Palliative care nurse of the year
This award recognizes a nurse who has made a substantial difference to the palliative care of patients in practice. This may be in the care of terminally ill individuals, through innovations in symptom relief, or through service developments or changes to the culture within organizations that have resulted in improved care.

What impact has this nominee has on patients and families?
How has this nominee worked with other members of the multidisciplinary team?
How has this nominee embodied the principles and values of palliative care?

Innovation Award 
This award highlights innovative ideas in the clinical setting that have resulted in enhanced outcomes in practice for patients receiving palliative care.  This may range from extending the boundaries of practice to setting up new services that improve patient care.  The winner will demonstrate how evidence-based changes to practice have benefited their organization and/or patent group.     

What area of need has this nominee addressed?
In what way was their approach innovative?
What evidence of impact is there?

Educator of the year
This award is presented to a committed and influential educator who has contributed to the expansion of palliative nursing knowledge through the development of, for example, new educational strategies and materials; learning networks that improve the skills and knowledge of nurses, patients, families, or carers; or the means to assess the o tcomes of education. Submissions should outline how, through education, the nominee has made a difference to patients and those close to them.

How was this nominee's approach to education unique?
What influence have they had?
How has this nominee achieved a broad impact?

Development award

The Development award celebrates the achievements of a team or an individual working in an area of the world where palliative care services are relatively new. Submissions should describe the development of palliative care approaches and how they have made a difference. This may have involved introducing new services, education, or nursing innovations, and is likely to have taken place using limited resources. The work may also have involved overcoming barriers and helping people or communities to use their own internal resources.

What challenges has this nominee has to overcome?
What impact have they had?
How have they ensured that their outcomes will be sustainable?

Multidisciplinary teamwork award

Good palliative care depends on teamwork between health and social care professionals, patients and carers. This award highlights inspirational multidisciplinary working. Entries should show how groups of people work together to enhance care, for example by describing the difficult process of developing an effective team and barriers. Alternatively, they may focus on systems that have facilitated the communication of information needed for different professions to bring together their skills to help patients. Examples of cross-disciplinary learning and support will also be considered.

How has the nominee(s) shown exemplary teamwork?
What challenges/innovations have they overcome/initiated?
What impact have they had?

Service user/carer/volunteer of the year

This award recognizes the invaluable contribution and achievements of a patient, carer, or volunteer who has improved the lives of others in palliative care. This may have resulted from a personal experience of illness or from caring for or working with a patient in the palliative phase of illness. Entries should include everyday examples, showing evidence of hard work and dedication to improving palliative care services for patients and helping to implement changes.

What impact has the nominee had on patients, families or staff?
How has this nominee shown exemplary dedication?
How has this nominee embodied the principles and values of palliative care?

Researcher of the Year

It is so important for health professionals to get palliative care right and this can only be achieved by having up-to-date knowledge and understanding of the field. This awareness is often provided by evidence-based teaching that comes from high-quality research. This category awards those individuals and teams that have undertaken qualitative or quantitative research, to a high standard, that teaches us something new and important about palliative care. 

Is the research relevant to palliatve nursing?
Is the research methodology sound?
What were the conclusions of the research and can these inform best practise?

Lifetime Achievement award

This award recognizes the outstanding contribution to palliative nursing made over a number of years by an inspirational and influential individual. Applicants will outline a summary of achievements highlighting research and leadership at a strategic level. Previous winners of this prestigious award are Jo Hockley, Sue Hawkett OBE, Mr Philip Larkin, Dr Mary Vachon, Kath Defilippi, Dr Huda Abu-Saad Huijer, Sue Dewar and Christine Ward.

What has this nominee achieved within palliative care?
What makes their achievements particularly impressive?
How has this nominee led and inspired others?